Journées de la culture

Culture pour tous

The organization behind this flagship event

Mission

Culture pour tous is an independent, not-for-profit organization whose mission is to foster recognition of arts and culture as vitally important aspects of individual and collective development by encouraging public participation in cultural life. For more than 20 years, the organization has been increasing ways and opportunities to promote culture in all fields of activity, from schools to the workplace.

History

During the 1996 Summit on the Economy and Employment, a large-scale project to democratize and raise awareness of arts and culture was presented to the leaders of Quebec’s cultural communities. A few months later, the first financial, public-sector and private-sector commitments were made: the cultural communities were preparing the first edition of the Journées de la culture, which was held in September 1997 under the theme of “There’s Something Missing in Our Culture.” Five hundred organizations, artists and artisans hosted more than 160,000 visitors!

On June 17, 1997, Quebec’s National Assembly unanimously adopted a motion proclaiming the last Friday in September and the two days thereafter in each year to be the Journées nationales de la culture.

To date, 584 municipalities have officially adopted a resolution in that regard.

Journées de la culture

Culture pour tous

L’organisme derrière cet événement-phare

Mission

Organisme indépendant à but non lucratif (obnl), Culture pour tous a pour mission de contribuer à faire reconnaître les arts et la culture comme dimensions essentielles du développement individuel et collectif en favorisant la participation des citoyens à la vie culturelle. Depuis plus de 20 ans, l’organisme multiplie les manières et les occasions de faire rayonner la culture dans toutes les sphères d’activités, du milieu scolaire au milieu du travail.

Historique

À l’occasion du Sommet sur l’économie et l’emploi de 1996, un grand projet de démocratisation et de sensibilisation aux arts et à la culture est présenté par les leaders des milieux culturels québécois. Les premiers engagements financiers, publics et privés arrivent quelques mois plus tard : le milieu de la culture prépare la première édition des Journées de la culture, qui se dérouleront en septembre 1997 sous le thème « Ça manquait à notre culture ». Cinq cents organismes, artistes et artisans accueilleront plus de 160 000 visiteurs!

Le 17 juin 1997, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec adopte à l’unanimité une motion proclamant le dernier vendredi de septembre et les deux jours suivants de chaque année, Journées nationales de la culture.

À ce jour, 584 municipalités ont officiellement adopté une résolution en ce sens.